Tete-a-tete: Jentine from My Edit

I recently ask Jentine from the blog My Edit to answer a couple question because A. I LOVE her style (how amazing is the sequins jacket!) and B. I think her blog is super clever and fun. Thanks Jentine!!

July27.myedit

1. Where do you live? Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

2. What do you do for a living? I am a landscaper with a degree in Fashion Design…long story…

dwi.lanscaper

3.How do you bring your sense of style to the workplace? Unfortunately, in landscaping function is more important than fashion. The little things count though…sunscreen to prevent premature leatheration (?) of skin, big sunglasses as protective eyewear and ankle socks to keep tan lines at bay in the the summer and kneehighs and shorts in the fall.

July28.Jentine

4.What outfit exemplifies your style and why? (Left pic) I love the concept of mixing opposites. Pairing new clothes with vintage ones, a super casual piece with sparkly evening wear or going crazy with patterns… It’s all about the contrast of the leopard print, the plaid and the bright cuff. And yes, denim is a staple in the cooler months… I do live in Canada.

5.Which outfit did you step outside your comfort zone and end up surprisingly happy with the results? (Middle pic) Maxi dresses are lovely but they can be a bit too trendy and it’s hard to find ones that are long enough for me. Hence, I rarely wear them. I found this Lida Baday at a thrift store and thought ‘a maxi with short sleevs… a little unusual’…. but when it was tried on triumphant choirs started singing in my head. If I may say so myself, it is the most unique casual maxi I have seen. I’m glad you asked this question Jenni, because this dress needs to be worn again soon!

6.What is one of your fave weekend looks and why?  (Right pic) During the summer I love to wear dresses and skirts, probably because it’s so different from my work look (which really isn’t a look…). Dresses are definately my biggest weakness when shopping. I’ll hold out forever to find the perfect coat but I can’t seem to be able to stop buying dresses. Because a lot of my dresses are pretty summery (mind you, the summer has hardly been ‘summery’ this year…) I try to use every opportunity when I’m not working to wear a dress or skirt. I like using brown belts to keep the look casual.

7.What is one style tip you want to pass on to others?
Hmmmm… one style tip. Can I give two?
#1. Only wear high heels if you can walk in them.
#2. I never want to see a pair of white tights or leggings again. The mirror lies not, they are unflattering.

See more at http://myedit.blogspot.com/

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “Tete-a-tete: Jentine from My Edit”

  1. nikki Says:

    I LOVE THIS FEATURE!!! Are there any people in your work place (or others) you could talk to?

  2. alicia Says:

    i love her!!

  3. Kyla Says:

    I love her blog! She has amazing style and a fantastic sense of humor! Thanks for featuring her.

  4. diana Says:

    i have been following her blog too. she’s gorgeous and i love her style and blog. i wonder if she has tips for walking in heels since i can’t. waah. haha. sad but true. cool to read more info. thanks.

  5. Linda Says:

    Very excited about this! Well done Yen! WOOT WOOOOTTT!

  6. Sher Says:

    Great job on the interview! You are one lovely lady!

  7. heather Says:

    love the last two pieces of advice! dead on 😉

  8. Eyeliah Says:

    I love her style, will add her blog – thanks!

Leave a Reply

