Wed – To hem or not to hem?

Aug5-MO

BIG QUESTION today: A year or so ago I was in LA for fashion week and a wedding and scooped up this dress from Sarah Jessica Parker’s Bitten line at Steve and Berry’s. I ended up wearing it to the wedding…but never wore it again because I did not like the length. I decided to give it one more chance, and pose the question to you guys: Should I hem it to just above the knee or leave as is?   The girls at work were split 50/50. 

Dress: SJP’s Bitten $10
Shoes and Charm Bracelet: From Coworkers 
Belt: Taken off another dress I bought 

sjp-bitten-dress

Just for a reference, here is SJP wearing it.  Looking amazing. Keep in mind she is 5 foot nothing and 0 pounds… where I am pushing 5’11” in my wedges… lot more material, and lot more pattern with my dress. 

Tags: , ,

27 Responses to “Wed – To hem or not to hem?”

  1. EmilyAnne Says:

    I’ve been following your blog for a few weeks now, and I am thinking that shorter lengths flatter your legs better. So I say to hem the dress. It’s just a little dowdy at that length, but it’s a very cute print.

    ps Sarah Jessica Parker should have hemmed that dress as well.

  2. Clare Says:

    I would hem it a bit. Just enough that it falls just above the knee. But what a gorgeous print!

  3. megwalsh Says:

    i say no hem… but if you do it, i think it should be a very minimal hem… say knee length or just grazing the top of the knee. i like that the dress has a little length to it and isn’t a mini. sometimes, a girl’s just gotta switch it up a bit and keep ’em guessing 🙂 i think you you look cute in it as is.

  4. Tanya Says:

    Gorgeous dress. And I think it would look even better if you hemmed it just a tad bit.

    I agree with EmilyAnne, it seems that shorter lengths flatter you more 🙂

  5. Noopur Says:

    I would say dont hem it….it looks nice the way it is. You have a height to pull of the length and you look great in your pics. This looks nice and different, cut it above knee length and it will become like gazillion other dresses you might have, though it will still be cute then as well:-)

  6. alicia Says:

    dont hem it. adds more dimension to your closet. and looks killer on ya. way better than the 5 ft nothin girl who would benefit from a sandwich. 🙂

    xoxo!

  7. Liz Says:

    don’t hem, jenni, don’ hem! like you said yourself–it was appropriate to wear for a wedding and you never know when you’ll need it for another formal/semi-formal occasion. you have so many fun short skirts/dresses that it’d be good to add something new into the mix. plus, i like the length in general, i think hemming it would make it lose some of its A-line.

  8. piglet Says:

    I like the length as is.
    It would also look nice hemmed, but I think it would look a little beachy maybe?

  9. Andrea Says:

    I like it how it is, but if you will wear it more if you hem it, then you should. You know what looks good on you and what you feel most comfortable in.

  10. EmilyKennedy Says:

    Hem. With the mixture of where you belt it, and the lack of straps, a hem will add the balance you need. Plus, I too think your stems are divine.

  11. D Says:

    i have this dress! i didn’t hem, because i lack skills and a tailor, but i like it as is. then again you have those great mile long legs you can show off with a hem.

  12. Melanie Says:

    I vote for no hem. I like it the way it is and agree with piglet that it would look too beachy if it’s hemmed. Plus your BF is coming home with some great nail polish for you!!!

  13. Rosemary Says:

    I would hem. Hem hem hem, I say. I prefer above the knee in general; most items I buy in vintage stores end up being reworked (not by me as I am inept with a sewing machine) and made shorter, I think it’s a lot more modern.

  14. christina Says:

    I say go for it, if you hem it up without actually cutting the fabric, you can always let the hem down in the future.

  15. Meghan Says:

    I’ve just started reading your blog- love it, thank you! I like the variety it ads to your closet, but if you hemmed it I’d suggest a similar length to the turquoise dress you wore last week.

  16. MeggyD Says:

    I vote to hem it just above the knee…so not too much/short – but showing your knees will help break up the pattern more.

  17. heather Says:

    i vote you should hem it above the knee too. in the mean time why not don it with a shoe sans the ankle strap… that way there’s no tailor bill and your legs look longer.

  18. Meghan Hochgesang Says:

    i think hem it if you want to be able to wear it with flats. the longer length looks dressier and is harder to pull off with flats.

  19. sherry Says:

    Jenni,

    I think it looks great with the hem as is. Why mess with perfection..

  20. Mariya Says:

    DO NOT HEM! It’s perfect the way it is – looks great on you and gives your closet some variety! DO NOT HEM!

  21. Ryan Says:

    HEM IT!!! Nothing wrong with a little leg J!!!

  22. jules Says:

    tough call…but i think, don’t hem, is the way to go.

  23. eyeliah Says:

    I saw leave it for now, maybe trim it by next summer? It’ll look great at either length.

  24. Jade Says:

    Hem it! it’s cute now, but will look even better once it’s hemmed. right above the knee is my vote! good luck!

  25. jamie Says:

    What did you decide? This is so funny… I have the exact same dress and never worn it b/c I haven’t decided if I want to hem it or not. It hits me at a weird spot and just looks like way too much dress. I think i’m gonna chop it. What about you?

  26. Dee Says:

    I don’t think you should hem it. I like it as it is.

    And fyi, I definitely think you styled that dress better than SJP and I prefer that dress on you than her!

  27. [wednesday] modcloth prints « Daily Work It Says:

    […] Outfits from last summer right to left: Outfit 1 Outfit 2 Outfit 3 […]

Leave a Reply

