DIY: Tie Dye

aug14-mo

Remember where I wore this dress here a while back?
Well, here is the DIY I promised.

Aug26-DIY-TieDye1

What you need: Dye (with Rit or Dylon will work, I purchased at Hobby Lobby) Rubber bands, Salt, String, Gloves and a Bucket

Aug26-DIY-TieDye2

1. Take any white cotton clothing you have laying around. 
2. Deside where you want the stripes and tie a rubberband around the area. Then wrap string tightly around the rubberband. Wrap more string if you want the band of white thicker.
– Add dye to a 1/4 bucket of water, add salt and stir till diluted
– Add clothing item and stir every 5 min for 30 minutes
– After 30 min, remove from bucket and rinse in sink until water runs clear
3. Take off string and rubber bands and let air dry. Make sure to hand wash, bc dye may come out on other clothes in the washer.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “DIY: Tie Dye”

  1. Jan Says:

    I must do this! Thanks so much! I knew it was easy, but it helps to see it all laid out in front of me! Now to find something to dye!

  2. Liz Says:

    “tie dye? ta da!”-jay z, apw

  3. Leela Says:

    Yay for DIY! The results look amazing. Tie dye is so fun 😀

  4. eyeliah Says:

    wow, you make it look so easy!

  5. Martina Says:

    your results are perfect!!!
    The dress looks great,
    Martina

  6. Dubai Stylista Says:

    Fabulosity! Thanks for the tutorial, I can’t wait to try this out!

  7. Susan Says:

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Susan

    http://carusbcharger.com

Leave a Reply

