Wednesday – Black, White, & Red

Oct7_MO3

Oct7_MO2

IMG_6816

IMG_6813

IMG_6819

Sticking with the Black, White and Red Theme.

I wanted to say a quick thanks for all the kind words about my “Day in the Life” article. Everyone’s support and amazing comments make this blog so fun to work on, so keep ’em coming! I love to hear from you!

Secondly, recently I have been getting frustrated. And this frustration stems from everyones seemingly endless cash-flow to spend on designer items. Unless I wanted to give up my apt, the words Gucci, Prada, Chanel will be a reference instead of reality for me. I would love to know your thoughts on the topic of designer clothes, and if they are a necessity to look stylish?

Click below for my celeb inspiration and outfit labels…
oct7-MO4

I love Alexa Chung, and I love that her style has point of view. She looks cool and sexy without trying too hard (ahem, Megan Fox) and rocks vintage all the time.  Def a huge style inspiration for me.

Shirt: H&M $12
Skirt: Forever 21 $14
Belt: Thrifted $1
Tights: H&M $6
Shoes: F21 $24
Gold Bracelet: Thrifted $2
Ring: F21 $5

Tags: , ,

22 Responses to “Wednesday – Black, White, & Red”

  1. Jules Says:

    Like Yves Saint Laurent said, “Fashion fades, but style is eternal.” I’m generally of that frame of mind but I’m the wrong girl to ask Jen cause I’ve shelled out a few too many pennies on bags, etc. Grad school student + marc jacobs winter coat – self control = poor management of personal finances

    But hey I don’t reeealllly need electricity, right?

    Mu-ah – hope you are well chica.

  2. Monica Says:

    Hi Jenni,

    You cannot buy style…it comes from within! I’m so glad you addressed this topic. When we get our blog up and running (with more than two posts) I’ll let you know so you can seek refuge in our recissionista/frugalist reporting 🙂 Keep up the good work!

    -Monica

  3. Lauren Says:

    i LOVE the skirt. and i absolutely don’t think that labels are necessary to be fashionable! the only real “labels” i have are a coach purse my parents gave me for my high school graduation (although… it’s a classic without an obvious label) and another coach i thrifted for $5 at a really sketchy goodwill. other than that, i use chanel, marc jacobs, etc. for inspiration, but my entire wardrobe is thrifted or H&M or something similar. it’s all about how you rock what you have!

    lauren
    http://www.papergownfashion.blogspot.com

  4. Andrea Says:

    I think it’s worth spending a higher price on something you know you will use forever and always. But maybe that applies more to house stuff or a really nice coat. For example, Kitchen Aid mixer that will be used until it dies and Pendelton wool blankets that I could probably will to my kids and la Pavoni espresso machines….more because they are just beautiful and make the best espresso in the universe.

  5. alicia Says:

    man im with andrea. i dont shop more than a handful of times a year other than at thrift store, and when i do, im at my guilty pleasures. no way will i pass up an outfit from anthropologie, whether i like the company’s owners or not… different story.

    but hell yeah, if you dont care much and when u do u just want something forever, that looks damn good and actually fits cuz its QUALity, then yes. designer. especially if it makes u feel good, in a really shallow kind of way.

  6. EmilyKennedy Says:

    I totally feel your frustration. I don’t keep bloggers in my RSS feed that talk about spending that kind of money. Who has it? And labels are TOTALLY not a requisite to looking fresh and stylish. I follow at least 15 bloggers who can take some thrift store, Forever 21, TJMaxx, and Target and make it look like the runways. Not kidding.

  7. Chelsea Says:

    Oh I just love this! Having been following your blog starting this past Summer, it is great to see how your style shifts for cooler weather. I love that you’re keeping up with the short flouncy skirt by adding a longer sleeve length and tights. And the red lipstick completes the outfit!

    Okay enough gushing… as for designers, they are definitely a point of reference for me too. Being in my mid 20s, living in one of the most expensive cities in the country (San Francisco), and working for a public University leaves me with very little extra money for shopping. What I love about finding the fashion blogging community is that the styles showcased are often so much more accessible than the style magazines! Not only do I get to see trends, styles and creative looks on different body types, but most of those bodies are on a budget!

  8. sherry Says:

    Jenni,

    You look great in your red, black and white outfit.

    I never step out of the house without my coach purse, Gucci outfit and Prada shoes. Of course, I have the wealth, body and style sense to put this all together.

    Who am I kidding, I am Wal-Mart’s best customer.

  9. Courtnee Says:

    I’ve been following your blog for months and I love it. You nailed your inspiration without looking like an Alexa-clone!
    As for spending for designer labels~ I wish that I could. I’m actually 36 and could probably spend more for designer labels than I do. Every now and then I may splurge on something but I also have three daughters leaving for college in the next three years. I am not willing to risk our family’s financial future for the “it” bag of the year. Fashion bloggers constantly surprise and amaze me with their creativity in terms of thrifting and reworking items. Style has nothing to do with labels.

  10. Amy Says:

    Style is something you have- it isn’t something you buy. Anyone can look good in Gucci, Prada, Marc Jacobs, etc… but to be able to go into F21 and walk out looking like you are wearing Gucci- that is style!

  11. D Says:

    i love this look! that skirt and those booties…FUN! oh and i will never know prada, chanel, or gucci and i am fine with it:) they aren’t necessary to look stylish.

  12. Stylelikeu Says:

    Hey! We LOVE what you are doing and writng about! Very original and refreshing! We were wondering whether it would be possible for each of us to add each other to our links! Looking forward to hearing back from you and to developing an ongoing relationship with you.
    Sincerely,
    Elisa and Lily

  13. piglet Says:

    I love this outfit, especially the shoes! Oh my gosh they are lovely!

    As for the designer question. I don’t own a single designer item and I don’t really plan to.
    I pride myself on being able to look stylish and unique by shopping at chain stores and thrifting / vintage finds.

  14. michelle Says:

    i LOVE your skirt. so muchhhhh. and i love your shoes. though i think it’d be even MORE perfect if they were black.
    …then again, i might be biased because i adore black shoes. mmm.
    x

  15. Jessica Says:

    Hey Jenn,

    I definitely don’t think you need to wear designer clothes to look great. I do think some things are worth investing in, but then again, my idea of an investment is more like Zara than Burberry.

    Also, Love your nails. What color!?

  16. meg.walsh Says:

    i think certain designer pieces are too amazing to pass up and like many have said, i see it as an investment. i also never throw anything away because i have found style definitely comes back around eventually. however, with that said, i do believe true style is innate and it does not have to cost a lot of money to look good. i think a good mix of nice pieces (for instance, good jeans) and lower priced goods/great sales is the way to go.

  17. EmilyAnne Says:

    My thoughts on the issue of fashion labels are, yeah they can be great looking pieces, but there are always going to be other things that can look just as great for less. The average women would never be able to spend $4000.00 on a handbag or $2000.00 for fancy Prada heels. I look at these items almost as I would art. They’re meant to be seen not not touched…at least by my hands. And further more, since I am studying finance I’ll be the first to say that clothing and such is not an “investment”. They won’t usually mature in value, unless it was once owned by an Oscar winner or something that would give it a commemorative value. Unfortunately.

  18. Skinny Dip Says:

    You always look lovely and stylish–evidence that you don’t need to drop massive amounts of cash to look great! To paraphrase what other people said above: you can buy fashion but you can’t buy style! (Having worked in a high end retail store has only reconfirmed this for me again & again) I think it all comes down to having a good sense of personal style, knowing what looks good on you & not being afraid to be creative.

    I don’t think designer items are necessary and I’m not willing to sacrifice my quality of life (good food, an apartment, social activities) to afford them….however, I have met people who do exactly that. This makes me feel sad.

    I’m all about the thrill of the hunt! Any designer stuff I do own I’ve acquired through VERY lucky thrifting adventures. There is something really thrilling about finding a Marc Jacobs blouse for $4 (something that happened to me during my first trip to NYC!) that I don’t think I would feel if I had just picked it up off a rack. So, this is how I occasionally get my label fix, while still on a budget.

    Anyways, I’ve been reading your blog for awhile and just wanted to say hi 😉
    Please keep up the great work!

  19. Brian Gershey Says:

    Glad to have found out about this site really found it useful and will return for a further look around when I have some more time.

Leave a Reply

