[yea or nay] backpacks

At the Rebecca Minkoff Sample Sale this week, my friend Nikki and I spent a solid 30 minutes debating a structured leather backpack. It was sharp, but the price tag was steep for a trendy item.  BP’s are popping up everywhere as the hot “new” carryall, and after the backache my new huge Foley + Corinna bag is giving me, I would not be opposed to kickin it old school.  What do you guys thinks? Yea or Nay to backpacks?

1. Kimchi Blue Canvas Backpack $68
2.  Clava Drawstring Backpack $152
3.  David King & Co $110
4. Bellino Luciano Backpack $67.20
5. Topshop Small Leather Rucksack $80

Click below for the Minkoff backpack that provided the inspiration.

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “[yea or nay] backpacks”

  1. Liz Says:

    They remind me way to much of a middle aged women. Especially leather ones, I say nay! At least pick up a vintage one so you don’t spend tons on such a trendy item.

  2. Monique Says:

    Ordinarily I would say nay, but I am with you on the backaches from carrying a large cross body bag. There are times when all I want is to be more “balanced” and not kill my shoulder. I would opt for one of the leather ones if I had to choose- particularly the camel colored ones (either 2 or 5). I think that shade is a great neutral alternative to black.

  3. Gina Says:

    Yay to backpacks. I have a suede on that I’ve been carrying for close to 10 years. It’s not a daily bag, but anytime I have a larger amount of stuff to carry, I switch to that rather than use several bags b/c it’s easier to pack and more comfortable to carry. It’s especially good when my bike is my mode of transportation.

  4. Becca Says:

    I have to vote no on this one. It just gives me terrible flashbacks to my middle school years and the awful tiny backpack trend. I don’t know if I can get on board with carrying a backpack as a purse! xo Becca @ Freehoney.blogspot.com

  5. nikki Says:

    YAY YAY YAY! But not for that price tag 😦 I’m loving number four and five though, so thanks for some great alternatives!

  6. GingerB Says:

    I like’em.
    By the time I get all my commuter stuff loaded into a tote it’s heavy. If you commute on public transit there is always a walk on either end where you’re toting it all along.

    I don’t carry it as a purse, I keep my actual purse small and tuck it under my arm so I can get my fare and various cards, keys out easily. I figured out the tote was causing my shoulder to hurt because on weekends when I just carry the purse it didn’t hurt!

    I liked #3. I bought a black nylon one at Filene’s recently. I like leather, but it’s heavy in itself so this keeps the bag lighter.

  7. beth Says:

    yes! because i now have a bike, this is an essential item. and these are cute options.

Leave a Reply

